STORIES BEYOND BORDERS: 5. The Kerosene Boy

The Kerosene Boy

1. The Birth

2. Girlboy

3. Big and Little


4. The Kerosene Boy


Daytimes

My Daddy

Carries mail

While I’ sitting

Here in school

Evenings

Shopkeeper

He

And his salesman

I

Sells fresh produce

Mama

An kerosene

I

At the biggest circle

Where lovely women up on

Giant billboards

When nighttimes

The lamps flicker

And it’s fragrant

Children work at

Lessons for school

Quite good

That’s me at numbers

Especially

Fond of English.

Sudhir Kumar is my name

I am

9.


(Translator: Dr. Marilya Veteto Reese, Northern Arizona University, AZ)

The original text in German “Der Kerosinjunge” is in the book “Indien I: Süß (Dienheim 2006)”.

Leave a Reply

